Deep Calls Unto Deep: A Contemplative Exploration of the Psalms in Our Life and Practice

Student Plan (Venus)$109.00 $79.00
Standard Plan (Neptune)$109.00 $79.00
Enhanced Plan (Jupiter)$109.00 $74.00
Premium Plan (Cosmos)$109.00 $69.00

Specs

SKU: Web2023-01-a Categories: , ,

Description

Deep Calls Unto Deep

A Contemplative Exploration of the Psalms in Our Life and Practice

Presenters

Rev. Simon Ruth de Voil

Rev. David Wallace

Dates

January 30 & February 6, 13, 20, 2023
1PM – 2:30PM PST 
4PM – 5:30PM EST 

Duration

6 hours (total)

 

Webinar will be recorded.

"GOD, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me down in lush meadows, you find me quiet pools to drink from. True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction. Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when you walk at my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure."

– Psalms 23 - MSG

Known as תְּהִלִּים in Hebrew and Zabūr in Arabic, the Book of Psalms, a revered sacred text across Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, cherished for its deep wisdom, beautiful poetry, and broad exploration of the joys, sorrows, despairs, and longings at the heart of the human condition. Join SDI for this Interspiritually-minded and experiential webinar with guides Simon de Voil and David Wallace. We will be learning about and engaging with the Book of Psalms through teaching, music, writing, and contemplative listening, with opportunities for sharing and for spiritual companionship. All spiritual wayfarers from any spiritual orientation or tradition will find wisdom, song, and practice to nourish their souls.

"God is our refuge and our strength; a haven in times of trouble. Therefore we can be calm though the earth shakes, though the nations change, and though the sea rises. Our trust is in the Holy One who is making the heavens in the earth. Who is with us in the midst of the city and in our own hearts."

– Psalm 46 - Interpretation by Christine Robinson

What to Expect

Sessions

Session I: An Intimate Encounter —
Engaging with the Psalms as Living Poetry of Our Souls

Session II: The Psalmist as Spiritual Companion —
Examining the Unique Gifts We Each Bring to The Psalms

Session III: The Fullness of Life —
Discovering Our Shared Humanity

Session IV: Embodying the Psalms —
Serving as Spiritual Companions to All Beings

"... even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you."

– Psalm 139 - NIV

When

The webinar series will run 4 consecutive Mondays: January 30 & February 6, 13, 20, 2023 –  1 PM Seattle/Los Angeles, 3 PM Chicago, 4 PM New York, 9 PM London; Tuesdays: January 31 & February 7, 14, 21, 2023: 4 AM Hong Kong, 7 AM Sydney, Australia.

Find your own local time here.

But if that timing doesn’t work, you can enjoy the webinar any time you like.

Each session is recorded so you can watch at your convenience.

Presenters

Simon de Voil

Rev. Simon Ruth de Voil, is an ordained interfaith/interspiritual minister, trained to be a sacred presence outside the conventions of traditional religion. As a sacred musician, spiritual mentor and worship leader he incorporates chant, ritual, poetry, storytelling, and mindful practice to create a space for profound connection and sacred witness. Simon provides music for worship, ceremony, and prayer in a wide variety of churches and non-religious spiritual communities. He particularly loves to create music for meditation, healing services, and rites of passage.

Simon is also an experienced workshop and retreat leader, drawing on 15 years of study, training, and practice that grew from his time living and working in Iona Abbey. Although influenced by many traditions, Simon’s spiritual path and teaching is deeply rooted in Celtic Christianity, the wisdom of the earth, and in the Scottish land where he’s spent most of his life.

Learn more about Simon on his website: simondevoil.com

David Wallace

Rev. David Wallace recently retired as a dean and senior teacher for One Spirit Interfaith Seminary in New York City, and is a faculty member of the spiritual direction program at the Rowe Center and an active officiant and spiritual director.  He is a graduate of St. John’s College in Santa Fe, NM, and has continued those studies as a lifelong student of the “great books” of philosophy and archetypal psychology.  Rev. Wallace offers teaching and retreats at spiritual venues worldwide, and specializes in poetics, contemplative practice, and the wisdom texts of both the Eastern and Western traditions.

Additional Information

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.